An Experienced Family Law
Attorney Working For You

Understanding the six stages of divorce in Texas

On Behalf of | Mar 23, 2023 | Divorce |

Divorce is never easy, whether you’re in Texas or anywhere else in the world. It can be a lengthy and painful journey that affects both parties involved.

While each divorce is unique, many divorces tend to go through six stages. These stages are not always linear, and some people may experience them in a different order. However, understanding these stages can help individuals navigate the process and become stronger on the other side.


The first stage of divorce is often characterized by denial. One or both parties may struggle to come to terms with the fact that the marriage is ending. They may have difficulty accepting that the relationship is over and may even cling to the hope of reconciliation.

During the denial stage, it is common for people to feel a sense of shock, disbelief and confusion.


A person going through a divorce can direct anger at their spouse, themselves, or even the situation. During this stage, people may feel a sense of frustration, resentment and bitterness. It is essential to manage this anger healthily by seeking therapy or finding a healthy outlet like exercise or art.


In the bargaining stage, individuals may try negotiating with their spouse to save the marriage. They may make promises to change their behavior or seek counseling. However, this stage is often characterized by a sense of desperation and may not be a formative stage for everyone.


The reality of divorce can often lead to feelings of sadness and depression. However, this is a natural part of the grieving process and is a normal response to loss.

During the depression stage, individuals may experience hopelessness, helplessness and sadness. Seeking support from loved ones, therapy, or support groups can be helpful during this time.


As individuals work through their emotions, they may begin to accept the reality of the situation. In addition, they may start to see the positive aspects of divorce, such as the opportunity to move on and find new opportunities. During this stage, individuals may feel a sense of peace and closure.

Moving on

The final stage of divorce involves moving on and creating a new life. This includes starting new hobbies, pursuing new career opportunities or even finding a new partner. It is crucial to take the time to heal and focus on self-care before moving on.

Navigating the stages of a divorce

Divorce is an emotionally taxing process that can take time to navigate. However, understanding the six stages of divorce can help individuals cope with the challenges and become stronger on the other side. While everyone’s journey is different, creating a support group can be helpful during this time.